For Daily Job Alert Join Our Whats App Channel
For Free Study Material Join Our Telegram Channel

Indira Gandhi Centre for Atomic Research
=> About

▪️Indira Gandhi Centre for Atomic Research(IGCAR) is one of India’s premier nuclear research centres. It is the second largest establishment of the Department of Atomic Energy (DAE), next to Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (BARC), located at Kalpakkam, 80 km south of Chennai, India.

▪️It was established in 1971 as an exclusive centre dedicated to the pursuit of fast reactor science and technology, due to the vision of Dr. Vikram Sarabhai.

▪️Originally, it was called as Reactor Research Centre (RRC). It was renamed as Indira Gandhi Centre for Atomic Research (IGCAR) by the then Prime Minister of India, Rajiv Gandhi in December 1985.

▪️The centre is engaged in broad-based multidisciplinary programme of scientific research and advanced engineering directed towards the development of Fast Breeder Reactor technology, in India.

=> Indira Gandhi Centre for Atomic Research

▪️Established :1971
▪️Research type : Nuclear research centre
▪️Budget : ₹8,450 million(US$130 million) per annum
▪️Field of research :
Atomic Energy, Material Physics, Nano-Sciences, Electronics and Instrumentation, Reactor Engineering, Metallurgy
▪️Director : Dr. A.K.Bhaduri
▪️Staff : 2511
▪️Location : Kalpakkam, Tamil Nadu, India
▪️Operating agency : Department of Atomic Energy, Government of India
▪️Website :

▪️The present Director of IGCAR is Dr. A.K. Bhaduri. He has taken over as Director with effect from 1 July 2016, following the superannuation of Dr. S. A. V. Satya Murty.

= List of Directors =

▪Placid Rodriguez: 01.12.1992 – 31.10.2000S.
▪B. Boje: 01.11.2000 – 31.04.2004
▪Baldev Raj: 01.05.2004 – 30.04.2011
▪S. C. Chetal: 01.05.2011 – 31.01.2013
▪P. R. Vasudeva Rao: 01.02.2013 – 31.08.2015
▪Dr.S. A. V. Satya Murty: 01.09.2015–31.06.2016
▪Dr. A.K. Bhaduri-01.07.2016–Present



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here