All Exams Free Study Material and PDFs Join Our Telegram Channel
Click Here Join Now


The third BRICS Film Festival was held from 22-27 July 2018 in Durban along with the International Durban Film Festival (DIFF). The last day of the festival was celebrated as India Country Day and some award received by India cinema in this festival.



South Africa has assumed BRICS rotational Chairpersonship for 2018, succeeding the People’s Republic of China. The year 2018 completes the first decade of BRICS Summits. South Africa will host the 10th BRICS Summit and the 3rd BRICS Film Festival. The 3rd BRICS Film Festival will be the main focus at this year’s Durban International Film Festival (DIFF)that will be taking place from the 19th – 29th July 2018.

3rd BRICS Film Festival will recognise the following awards: Best Film (Producer/s), Best Director, Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Supporting Actor, Best Supporting Actress, Best Editor, Best Cinematography, Best Composer/Music, as well as Special Jury Award from submitted feature films.


Competition and Non-competition: 

During the period of 5 days there will be screenings of 25 films: 5 films from each country, 2 Feature films for the competition section; 3 for the non-competition section.  Films can be in the following categories: 

  • Feature/Drama (90min to 120min)
  • Documentaries
  • Short films


The statue award will be the Golden Rhino: inspired by the history behind the golden rhino that was discovered in Mapungubwe, the significance of the place, the linkages with other countries in earlier century. In China it was the Panda award.


Awards won by Indian films in the 3rd BRICS Film Festival 2018

♦ Best Film-Newton
♦ Special Jury Award-Village Rockstars
♦ Best Actress-Bhanita Das

The festival screened four Indian Films in the following category

♦ Movie Name-Newton
♦ Village Rock Stars by Rima Das

Films in Non-competition Section:

♦  Sinjar-Sandeep Pampally
♦ Bhanayakam-Jayaraj



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here